Translator Associations – What Do They Want from Us, and What Do We Want from Them?

Interesting article.

Patenttranslator's Blog

I have never thought of myself as a joiner, but I have certainly joined quite a few associations of translators over the years. At least half a dozen of them in the last three decades … so I thought it might be a good idea to write a post about my personal experience with them for my blog.

The first one I joined was the Northern California Translators Association (NCTA). I must have joined in 1987 or ‘88, I can’t remember now. I joined when I lived in San Francisco, mostly because it was a local association and I wanted to meet other translators. I was quite an active member for many years. I used to go several times a year to meetings that were held at the UC Berkeley extension in San Francisco and to Christmas parties held at private houses of translators. It was fun and I met…

View original post 1,832 more words

Leave a Reply

